

MEETING MINUTES

Florida Courts E-Filing Authority Special Meeting July 1, 2022 2:00 p.m., EDT

Florida Courts E-Filing Authority Board of Directors held a special meeting on July 1, 2022, at 2:00 p.m., EDT, by WebEx. The following board members were present:

☑ The Hon. Karen E. Rushing, Chair (Clerk of Court, Sarasota County)
☑ The Hon. Todd Newton, Vice Chair | District IV (Clerk of Court, Gilchrist County)
☑ The Hon. Jeffrey R. Smith, CPA | District V (Clerk of Court, Indian River County)
☑ The Hon. Tara S. Green | District III (Clerk of Court, Clay County)
☑ The Hon. John Tomasino (Clerk of the Court, Florida Supreme Court)
☑ The Hon. Clayton O. Rooks | District I (Clerk of Court, Jackson County)
☑ The Hon. Steve Land | District II (Clerk of Court, Lafayette County)
☑ The Hon. Stacy M. Butterfield, CPA | District VI (Clerk of Court, Polk County)
□ The Hon. Kevin Madok | District VII (Clerk of Court, Monroe County)

☑ Present □ Not Present

Introduction and Roll Call

The Honorable Karen E. Rushing, Chair, opened the meeting at 2:00 p.m., EDT, welcomed everyone to the special meeting and asked Beth Allman to call the roll. A quorum was present.

Public Comment

The Honorable Karen E. Rushing, Chair, asked if any one on the WebEx wished to speak. There were no comments.

Executive Session

The Honorable Karen E. Rushing, Chair, announced that the Board would convene in a closed session to discuss pending litigation in the matter of Courthouse News Service v. Brenda D. Forman, et.al.

Ms. Lynn Hoshihara, Esq., Board General Counsel, announced that the Board members, counsel, Mr. Chris Hart IV, and a certified court reporter would convene in a



P.O. Box 16428 | Tallahassee, FL 32317 🌐 MyFLCourtAccess.com

separately held Executive Session to discuss the litigation and would return in approximately an hour. Ms. Hoshihara explained that the session would be closed to the public pursuant to s. 286.11, F.S.

The Florida Courts E-Filing Authority convened in the Executive Session at 2:06 p.m., EDT.

The Honorable Karen E. Rushing, Chair, re-opened the public meeting at 3:13 p.m. EDT.

Ms. Lynn Hoshihara, Esq., requested Board approval to submit a plan to the Court proposing to modify the portal to flag and designate confidential civil complaints from non-confidential civil complaints for all 67 counties.

The Honorable Stacy M. Butterfield made a motion to authorize Nabors Giblin to file a plan with the court that for civil complaints, the Florida Courts E-Filing Portal would be programmed to flag and designate confidential civil complaints from non-confidential civil complaints prior to sending them to the 67 Clerks. The Honorable Tara S. Green seconded the motion.

The Honorable Karen E. Rushing, Chair, checked to see if anyone wished to comment. Seeing none, she called for the vote. All voted in favor of the motion.

Ms. Hoshihara explained that the second action requested by the Board was to move forward with the filing of a notice of appeal.

The Honorable Jeff Smith made a motion to instruct Nabors Giblin to file a Notice of Appeal in the case. The Honorable Todd Newton seconded the motion.

The Honorable Karen E. Rushing, Chair, asked if there was any discussion. Seeing none, she called for the vote. All voted in favor of the motion.

Ms. Hoshihara commented that the deadline for filing a plan is July 8, 2022, and the deadline for filing the Notice of Appeal is July 10, 2022. Once the documents are submitted, she stated that she would keep the Board informed.

Adjournment

The Honorable Todd Newton made a motion to adjourn, The Honorable Stacy M. Butterfield seconded the motion and all voted in favor.

The Honorable Karen E. Rushing, Chair, thanked everyone for attending.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:17 p.m., EDT.



P.O. Box 16428 | Tallahassee, FL 32317 🌐 MyFLCourtAccess.com